Search Programs

Online Colleges that Offer Laptops + Tech Perks

online_colleges_that_offer_free_laptops_1

When people search for online colleges that offer laptops, they usually want to know which schools bundle a device with enrollment, whether you keep it, and what “free” really costs after fees and aid.

Programs differ a lot. One school may ship a laptop you can keep. Another lends one for the term. A third folds the device into tuition. Names that often come up include University of Arkansas Grantham, Full Sail University, Campus.edu, Seton Hill University, and California State University, Bakersfield.

This page lists laptop and tech perks we checked on official school pages in May 2026. It also shows U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard cost fields for fifteen colleges with known device programs. Use both when you compare schools. Rules change by term, program, and whether you study online or on campus.

Always read each school’s technology and financial aid pages before you enroll. A perk on a list is not an offer letter or financial advice.

  • Bottom line: Some online colleges give eligible students a laptop, tablet, hotspot, or software bundle at no extra charge. Others lend gear, issue vouchers, or roll tech into tuition and fees.
  • What we show: a comparison table and school profiles checked in May 2026, plus Scorecard figures for typical cost after aid, listed tuition, Pell share, and median federal loan debt on fifteen colleges.
  • Before you enroll: confirm online vs. campus rules, technology fees, shipping limits, and whether you keep the device. Ask the aid office if Federal Student Aid can cover required tech in your cost of attendance.
Contents

Quick comparison: online colleges with laptop programs

SchoolTechnology benefitKeep or return?Best forLast verified
University of Arkansas GranthamLenovo laptop for eligible studentsKeep if program terms metOnline degree studentsMay 2026
Full Sail UniversityProject LaunchBox laptop and softwareUsually keepCreative and media programsMay 2026
Campus.eduLaptop and Wi-Fi for students who need itVariesOnline community college studentsMay 2026
Bethel University (TN)Laptop or Chromebook for new undergraduatesVariesIncoming campus undergraduatesMay 2026
Seton Hill UniversityMacBook and Apple mobile learningKeep after graduationFull-time campus undergraduatesMay 2026
Moravian UniversityApple technology programVariesApple-first learningMay 2026
Rasmussen UniversityLaptop offer for eligible studentsVariesCareer-focused online programsMay 2026
Dakota State UniversityRequired on-campus laptop program (WMCI)Keep after 4 yearsOn-campus freshmen (not online-only)May 2026
Northwest Missouri State UniversityUniversity-owned laptop (most students)ReturnOn-campus students (not Online Professional)May 2026
University of Minnesota CrookstonLaptop U program (campus)Return between termsOn-campus degree studentsMay 2026
California State University, BakersfieldFree loaner laptop, tablet, or hotspot (STEP)ReturnStudents without tech accessMay 2026
California State University, East BayDevice voucher and loaner laptopsVariesEligible full-time studentsMay 2026
Summary from each school’s official technology pages. Not an offer. Confirm rules with the school.

Types of online college laptop programs

Free-to-keep laptop programs

Some colleges give you a laptop you can keep after you graduate or finish a set number of credits. Read whether a technology fee or minimum enrollment applies.

Loaner laptop programs

Loaner programs lend a laptop, tablet, or hotspot while you are enrolled. You usually return it after the term, year, or program ends. Late fees may apply.

Technology-fee programs

Some schools fold the device into tuition or a required technology fee. The laptop may still help you. Compare typical cost after aid, not marketing copy alone.

Program-specific technology packages

Creative, media, IT, cybersecurity, engineering, and design programs may include specialized hardware or software for your major.

Need-based technology support

Some campuses lend laptops, tablets, hotspots, or vouchers to students who do not already have the tech they need for class. Supplies are often limited.

Top 15 colleges: affordability snapshot

Typical cost after aid, listed tuition, Pell Grant share, and median federal loan debt from College Scorecard (May 2026 pull). These numbers describe the whole campus, not only online students. Confirm laptop rules and your net price on each school’s site.

College Scorecard affordability data for 15 colleges with laptop or technology programs.
RankInstitutionLocationTypical cost after aidListed tuition & feesPell shareMedian federal debt
1University of California-BerkeleyBerkeley, CA$13,481$16,347 in-state / $50,547 out-of-state29%$13,000
2University of North Carolina at Chapel HillChapel Hill, NC$11,655$8,994 in-state / $41,203 out-of-state20%$14,000
3University of Michigan-Ann ArborAnn Arbor, MI$13,138$17,736 in-state / $60,946 out-of-state18%$19,500
4University of California-DavisDavis, CA$14,741$16,774 in-state / $50,974 out-of-state31%$13,000
5Harvard UniversityCambridge, MA$19,066$61,67616%$14,000
6University of California-Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara, CA$16,109$16,414 in-state / $50,614 out-of-state28%$13,993
7California State University-FullertonFullerton, CA$6,555$7,470 in-state / $20,070 out-of-state48%$13,750
8University of Central FloridaOrlando, FL$10,411$6,368 in-state / $22,467 out-of-state32%$18,190
9The University of Texas at DallasRichardson, TX$18,267$14,644 in-state / $40,144 out-of-state30%$18,000
10Ohio State University-Main CampusColumbus, OH$17,339$13,244 in-state / $40,022 out-of-state20%$19,976
11The University of Texas at AustinAustin, TX$19,857$11,688 in-state / $44,908 out-of-state26%$20,500
12Duke UniversityDurham, NC$29,612$68,75814%$13,000
13University of PennsylvaniaPhiladelphia, PA$28,699$68,68617%$15,715
14California State University-East BayHayward, CA$9,320$7,583 in-state / $20,183 out-of-state44%$16,544
15Washington State UniversityPullman, WA$14,971$13,391 in-state / $29,950 out-of-state27%$19,500

Most affordable colleges on this page

Ranked by lowest average net price among the schools above.

Lowest typical yearly cost after aid among the top 15 ranked schools on this page.
RankSchoolTypical cost after aid
1California State University-Fullerton$6,555
2California State University-East Bay$9,320
3University of Central Florida$10,411
4University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill$11,655
5University of Michigan-Ann Arbor$13,138
6University of California-Berkeley$13,481
7University of California-Davis$14,741
8Washington State University$14,971
9University of California-Santa Barbara$16,109
10Ohio State University-Main Campus$17,339

Top 15 school profiles

Open a card for cost fields and a short note on technology support. Affordability grades use our What you’ll pay category. Confirm current laptop rules on each school’s IT page.

#1

University of California-Berkeley

Technology grants, loaners, and education-store discounts (verify current offer)

Berkeley, CA
Public researchLaptop programs vary
Typical cost after aid $13,481 Affordability grade: A-
Average net price$13,481
Tuition & fees (listed)$16,347 in-state / $50,547 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$5,311
Pell Grant recipient share29%
Median federal loan debt$13,000
Estimated books & supplies$1,131
Undergraduate enrollment33,068
#2

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Carolina Computing Initiative and campus technology resources

Chapel Hill, NC
Public researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $11,655 Affordability grade: A
Average net price$11,655
Tuition & fees (listed)$8,994 in-state / $41,203 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$2,004
Pell Grant recipient share20%
Median federal loan debt$14,000
Estimated books & supplies$1,290
Undergraduate enrollment20,752
#3

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Campus computing and technology support (program varies by school/college)

Ann Arbor, MI
Public researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $13,138 Affordability grade: A-
Average net price$13,138
Tuition & fees (listed)$17,736 in-state / $60,946 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$1,043
Pell Grant recipient share18%
Median federal loan debt$19,500
Estimated books & supplies$1,158
Undergraduate enrollment34,177
#4

University of California-Davis

Student technology services and recommended configurations

Davis, CA
Public researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $14,741 Affordability grade: B+
Average net price$14,741
Tuition & fees (listed)$16,774 in-state / $50,974 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$9,211
Pell Grant recipient share31%
Median federal loan debt$13,000
Estimated books & supplies$1,386
Undergraduate enrollment32,253
#5

Harvard University

Harvard University Information Technology and school-level resources

Cambridge, MA
PrivateHigh sticker price
Typical cost after aid $19,066 Affordability grade: C
Average net price$19,066
Tuition & fees (listed)$61,676
Income-band net priceNot reported in Scorecard
Pell Grant recipient share16%
Median federal loan debt$14,000
Estimated books & supplies$1,000
Undergraduate enrollment7,601
#6

University of California-Santa Barbara

Campus technology and recommended student computer standards

Santa Barbara, CA
Public researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $16,109 Affordability grade: B
Average net price$16,109
Tuition & fees (listed)$16,414 in-state / $50,614 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$9,231
Pell Grant recipient share28%
Median federal loan debt$13,993
Estimated books & supplies$1,381
Undergraduate enrollment23,113
#7

California State University-Fullerton

Student technology support and device access programs

Fullerton, CA
PublicStrong affordability score
Typical cost after aid $6,555 Affordability grade: A+
Average net price$6,555
Tuition & fees (listed)$7,470 in-state / $20,070 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$3,315
Pell Grant recipient share48%
Median federal loan debt$13,750
Estimated books & supplies$1,005
Undergraduate enrollment38,546
#8

University of Central Florida

Campus technology services and device checkout options

Orlando, FL
Public researchLarge online footprint
Typical cost after aid $10,411 Affordability grade: A
Average net price$10,411
Tuition & fees (listed)$6,368 in-state / $22,467 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$5,816
Pell Grant recipient share32%
Median federal loan debt$18,190
Estimated books & supplies$1,200
Undergraduate enrollment59,146
#9

The University of Texas at Dallas

Office of Information Technology and student computing resources

Richardson, TX
Public researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $18,267 Affordability grade: C+
Average net price$18,267
Tuition & fees (listed)$14,644 in-state / $40,144 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$12,814
Pell Grant recipient share30%
Median federal loan debt$18,000
Estimated books & supplies$1,200
Undergraduate enrollment21,751
#10

Ohio State University-Main Campus

Ohio State Digital Flagship and campus technology services

Columbus, OH
Public researchiPad / device programs
Typical cost after aid $17,339 Affordability grade: B-
Average net price$17,339
Tuition & fees (listed)$13,244 in-state / $40,022 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$4,885
Pell Grant recipient share20%
Median federal loan debt$19,976
Estimated books & supplies$1,030
Undergraduate enrollment45,638
#11

The University of Texas at Austin

UT Austin technology requirements and support services

Austin, TX
Public researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $19,857 Affordability grade: C
Average net price$19,857
Tuition & fees (listed)$11,688 in-state / $44,908 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$12,553
Pell Grant recipient share26%
Median federal loan debt$20,500
Estimated books & supplies$724
Undergraduate enrollment42,855
#12

Duke University

Duke Technology Center and school-level computing support

Durham, NC
Private researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $29,612 Affordability grade: F
Average net price$29,612
Tuition & fees (listed)$68,758
Income-band net priceNot reported in Scorecard
Pell Grant recipient share14%
Median federal loan debt$13,000
Estimated books & supplies$536
Undergraduate enrollment6,442
#13

University of Pennsylvania

Penn computing and school-level technology policies

Philadelphia, PA
Private researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $28,699 Affordability grade: F
Average net price$28,699
Tuition & fees (listed)$68,686
Income-band net priceNot reported in Scorecard
Pell Grant recipient share17%
Median federal loan debt$15,715
Estimated books & supplies$1,358
Undergraduate enrollment10,650
#14

California State University-East Bay

Device voucher and library loaner laptop programs

Hayward, CA
PublicVoucher and loaner
Typical cost after aid $9,320 Affordability grade: A+
Average net price$9,320
Tuition & fees (listed)$7,583 in-state / $20,183 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$6,360
Pell Grant recipient share44%
Median federal loan debt$16,544
Estimated books & supplies$1,029
Undergraduate enrollment9,809
#15

Washington State University

Student technology services and equipment access

Pullman, WA
Public researchVerify IT page
Typical cost after aid $14,971 Affordability grade: B+
Average net price$14,971
Tuition & fees (listed)$13,391 in-state / $29,950 out-of-state
Typical cost (family income $0–$30k)$7,074
Pell Grant recipient share27%
Median federal loan debt$19,500
Estimated books & supplies$762
Undergraduate enrollment21,099

More schools with laptop programs

Other colleges with strong laptop or technology programs worth comparing:

  • University of Arkansas Grantham: Lenovo laptop for eligible online degree students
  • Full Sail University: Project LaunchBox kits tied to creative and media programs
  • Strayer University: new-student laptop promotions on advertised terms (verify eligibility)
  • Dakota State University: required on-campus laptop program (online students excluded per official FAQs)
  • Northwest Missouri State University: university-owned laptops for eligible on-campus students (Online Professional program ineligible)
  • Seton Hill University and Moravian University: Apple-focused mobile learning
  • Seton Hall University, University of Minnesota-Crookston, Empire State University, and Alabama State University: mobile computing or device support (rules vary)
  • Wake Forest University: WakeWare discounts plus aid for some learners
  • Berea College: institutional support alongside a no-tuition model (verify current device policies)

Laptop program profiles

Each profile links to the school’s official program page (checked May 2026). Some programs require on-campus enrollment. Online-only students may not qualify.

University of Arkansas Grantham

University of Arkansas Grantham provides eligible new or returning students in associate, bachelor’s, or master’s degree programs with a Lenovo laptop for online coursework. Certificate and non-degree programs are excluded.

Official laptop program: UA Grantham Laptop Offer

  • Lenovo Windows laptop (about 15.6-inch screen, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD on current specs page)
  • Students may keep the device if they complete their first two terms with letter grades; return or pay an estimated $450 if they withdraw earlier
  • One laptop per person lifetime limit; program is optional but must be accepted before classes start to qualify
  • Built for online learners; continental U.S. shipping rules apply

Last verified: May 2026.

Full Sail University

Full Sail’s Project LaunchBox gives program-specific technology packages. Depending on your major, you may receive a MacBook Pro, PC laptop, creative software, or production tools. LaunchBox costs are typically rolled into program tuition and fees, not a separate retail purchase.

Official program page: Full Sail Project LaunchBox (confirm current kit and pricing on Full Sail’s site for your degree program).

  • Program-specific laptop and software packages
  • Strong fit for creative, media, music, film, and game programs
  • Equipment varies by degree program

Last verified: May 2026.

Campus.edu

Campus.edu offers a laptop and Wi-Fi access at no additional cost for students who need technology support.

Official page: Campus.edu

  • Laptop access for students who need it
  • Wi-Fi access support
  • Designed for online community college students
  • Student success coaching available

Last verified: May 2026.

Bethel University (McKenzie, Tennessee)

Bethel University in McKenzie, Tennessee provides incoming undergraduate students with a laptop or Chromebook through its IT support office. Students must take possession during their first semester or forfeit the offer per the school’s computer policy.

Official support page: Bethel University Technology Support

  • Laptop or Chromebook option
  • Incoming undergraduates must claim the device during the first semester
  • Eligibility rules apply

Last verified: May 2026.

Seton Hill University

Seton Hill’s Mobile Learning at the Hill program provides MacBook laptops to full-time traditional undergraduates and students in select graduate programs. This is a campus-based Apple program, not a universal online-college laptop bundle. Seton Hill’s FAQ states that students keep their Apple technology after graduation.

Official program page: Seton Hill Mobile Learning at the Hill

  • MacBook laptop program
  • Apple-focused learning environment
  • Students keep Apple technology after graduation (per school policy)
  • Eligibility varies by student type and program

Last verified: May 2026.

Moravian University

Moravian University integrates Apple devices into the student learning experience through its Apple technology initiative.

Official technology initiative: Moravian Apple Technology Program

  • Apple ecosystem integration for students and faculty
  • MacBook and iPad support through the university’s Apple program
  • Campus-focused mobile learning, confirm whether your program includes a device benefit

Last verified: May 2026.

Rasmussen University

Rasmussen University offers laptop opportunities for eligible students in select programs and start dates.

Official page: Rasmussen Laptop Program

  • Laptop offer for qualifying students
  • Applies to select programs
  • Career-focused online learning options
  • Eligibility and start-date requirements apply

Last verified: May 2026.

Dakota State University

Dakota State runs a required Wireless Mobile Computing Initiative (laptop program) for eligible on-campus students. Official FAQs state that online students are not placed in the program. Incoming full-time freshmen taking at least six on-campus credits participate; after four consecutive years, the assigned device may become yours for a minimal fee.

Official laptop program overview: DSU Laptop Program Overview

  • 2-in-1 laptop with DSU-configured software for academic programs
  • Required for eligible on-campus freshmen, not advertised for online-only enrollment
  • Ownership transfer possible after four uninterrupted years in the program
  • Students are responsible for damage, loss, and theft per university policy

Last verified: May 2026.

Northwest Missouri State University

Northwest provides a wireless-ready laptop to most students, but the devices remain university property. Students in the Online Professional program are ineligible. Laptops must be returned by set deadlines (for example, after finals or withdrawal) or students may face replacement fees up to $1,500.

Official page: Northwest Laptops

  • University-owned laptop issued to eligible students (models vary)
  • Pickup and return through the Electronic Campus Support Center
  • Online Professional students excluded from the laptop program
  • Free warranty repairs for normal wear; students may pay for abuse or loss

Last verified: May 2026.

University of Minnesota Crookston

UMN Crookston’s “Laptop U” program issues the same standardized laptop to on-campus, degree-seeking students and faculty, a campus-wide model since 1993. Students need at least six on-campus credits to qualify. The program is fee-supported (semester durable-goods and campus fees apply), not a separate free retail laptop.

Official page: UMN Crookston Laptop Computer Program

  • Standardized Lenovo ThinkPad issued to eligible on-campus students
  • Technology-integrated coursework across campus
  • Return required when not registered for sufficient on-campus credits next term
  • Lost or stolen devices may trigger substantial replacement charges, see official fee pages

Last verified: May 2026.

California State University, Bakersfield

CSU Bakersfield’s Student Technology Equity Program (STEP) serves students who lack technology for school. Eligible students may receive a free loaner laptop, tablet, or Wi-Fi hotspot while supplies last.

Official page: CSUB Student Technology Equity Program

  • Free loaner laptop or tablet for eligible students
  • Wi-Fi hotspot support may be available
  • Designed for students without technology access
  • Available while supplies last

Last verified: May 2026.

California State University, East Bay

Cal State East Bay offers device vouchers and library loaner laptops. Eligible students may qualify for a voucher toward a pre-configured laptop bundle; the library also runs a loaner program.

Official voucher page: Cal State East Bay Device Voucher Rules

Official loaner page: Cal State East Bay Loaner Laptop Program

  • Device voucher for eligible students
  • Loaner laptops through the library
  • Eligibility and supply limits apply

Last verified: May 2026.

More colleges with laptop, loaner, or technology support

Many other accredited colleges run loaner fleets, mobile-computing programs, or education-store discounts. Not every student qualifies for a free device. Check IT, financial aid, and registrar pages for your program and start date.

Large public universities and selective privates

Examples include University of California-Berkeley, Davis, and Santa Barbara; University of Michigan-Ann Arbor; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Duke University; University of Pennsylvania; Harvard University (education pricing and select programs, not the same as a universal free laptop for all students); Ohio State University; University of Central Florida; University of Texas at Austin and University of Texas at Dallas; University of Nevada-Las Vegas; University of Alabama at Birmingham; Oklahoma State University; Auburn University; and Washington State University.

Private colleges with device or discount programs

Examples include Chatham University, Drexel University, Flagler College, Florida Southern College, Indiana University East, Mercy University, Park University, Southern Nazarene University, St. John’s University-New York, Villanova University, Widener University, Seattle University, and Wentworth Institute of Technology (laptop ownership and purchase programs, confirm current rules). Western Washington University is a public institution with technology support and discounts, verify current device policies on its IT site.

Community and two-year programs

Community colleges sometimes run local device programs, for example Santa Ana College (Digital Dons), Normandale Community College, and Piedmont Community College. Two-year schools may not appear in national four-year outcome rankings when federal data are incomplete. Verify benefits directly with the campus IT or student services office.

Programs that changed or need extra confirmation

  • Centenary University: laptop fees or bundles have shifted over time; read the current student technology policy.
  • Indiana State University: some scholarships once included laptops; confirm whether any current award applies to your program.

What “free” usually means

  1. Loaner or semester checkout: You borrow the machine while enrolled; late return fees apply at many campuses.
  2. Keep after graduation: Some schools transfer title after you complete credit thresholds or pay a technology fee for several terms.
  3. Bundled in tuition: The device is financed like other instructional costs, use net price, not sticker marketing copy, to compare value.
  4. Discounts and partner stores: Apple, Dell, Lenovo, and HP education pricing are common; they are not automatic free laptops.
  5. Financial aid refunds: If aid exceeds billed charges, your refund may help buy a computer, policies differ for Title IV treatment of books and equipment.

Checklist before you count on a device

  1. Find the official page titled technology, mobile computing, or laptop program, not an outdated news post.
  2. Confirm eligibility for your level (certificate vs. associate vs. bachelor’s), pace (full-time vs. part-time), and start date.
  3. Ask whether you must stay past the add/drop period or complete two terms before the device ships.
  4. Read return, damage, and loss clauses; note who insures the hardware.
  5. Cross-check your major’s software requirements, some bundles suit general online learning, not engineering or media workstations.
  6. Ask whether online students face shipping limits or must already own a backup device for the first week of class.

Quick questions for the school

  • Is the laptop at no extra cost, or covered by tuition or fees?
  • Do you keep the device after graduation?
  • Is the device new, refurbished, loaned, or bought with a voucher?
  • Does it include required software?
  • Is remote technical support available?

Can FAFSA and financial aid pay for a laptop?

Yes. Many students use federal financial aid to help buy laptops and required educational technology. Complete the FAFSA through Federal Student Aid to see if you qualify for Pell Grants, federal loans, institutional aid, or other help.

A school may include reasonable technology in your cost of attendance. Contact the financial aid office before you purchase a laptop. Ask whether your aid package can cover required equipment, when refunds disburse, and whether a technology grant exists.

For step-by-step answers, see our FAQ: Can I use my FAFSA to get a laptop for college? and Do all online colleges give you a laptop?. Browse more in our FAQ.

What laptop specs do online students need?

General online coursework

  • Intel i5, AMD Ryzen 5, or Apple M-series processor
  • 8GB RAM minimum
  • SSD storage
  • Webcam and microphone
  • Reliable Wi-Fi

Engineering, IT, and cybersecurity

  • 16GB RAM or more
  • Larger SSD
  • Stronger processor
  • Virtualization support when your program requires it

Creative and media programs

Graphic design, animation, video, game development, and music production often need higher-performance laptops that can run professional creative software.

Other ways students can get free or discounted laptops

If you do not qualify for a college laptop program, nonprofits and manufacturer stores may still help:

Frequently asked questions

Which online colleges offer free laptops?

There is no single national list. Examples on this page include University of Arkansas Grantham, Full Sail’s Project LaunchBox, Campus.edu, Rasmussen, Dakota State, Northwest Missouri State, and UMN Crookston. Confirm eligibility with each school, especially online vs. on-campus rules.

Do online colleges really give students free laptops?

Yes. Some do for eligible students. Rules often depend on enrollment status, degree program, financial need, or start date. See also our FAQ: Do all online colleges give you a laptop?

Are college laptops really free?

Sometimes. Other times the cost is in tuition, fees, or a technology package. Review your full cost of attendance before you enroll.

Do students get to keep college laptops?

It depends on the school. Some programs let you keep the device after graduation; others require you to return loaners.

Can Pell Grants buy laptops?

Federal Pell Grants and student loans may cover required educational expenses, including laptops and technology needed for coursework, when your aid package allows it. Read Can I use my FAFSA to get a laptop for college? for how refunds and cost of attendance work.

Which laptop is best for online college?

It depends on your major. General online study usually needs a dependable laptop with a webcam, microphone, SSD, and at least 8GB of RAM. Creative, engineering, and IT programs often need stronger hardware.

Do colleges provide free software too?

Many colleges provide Microsoft 365, Adobe Creative Cloud, antivirus tools, cloud storage, virtual labs, or remote learning platforms. Check your school’s IT page for what is included.

Do online students get different rules than campus students?

Often yes. Shipping rules, U.S. residency limits, and proof that you already own a working computer for the first week of class are common online. Hybrid students may pick up devices on campus.

What if the laptop is damaged or stolen?

Policies vary. Loaner programs may carry institutional insurance; purchases may rely on manufacturer warranty. File campus police reports quickly when required and ask IT whether a spare loaner exists.

How long does delivery take after enrollment?

Many schools trigger orders only after the add/drop period or the second week of classes. Build a backup plan (library, borrowed machine) for the first days of the term.

Will a bundled laptop meet my major’s requirements?

Not always. Game development, engineering, data science, and professional media programs may specify GPUs, RAM, or operating systems beyond a baseline online-learning machine. Compare the bundle’s specs to your department’s checklist.

Are Chromebooks enough for online college?

They can work if your courses are fully web-based and your school allows Chrome OS. If you need local installs of SPSS, CAD, or full Adobe tools, a Windows or macOS laptop is more typical.

Why doesn’t the lowest net price always mean the best laptop deal?

Typical cost after aid is one piece of the picture. A school may offer a strong laptop bundle but still show a higher net price for your family, or the reverse. Use the cost tables and laptop profiles together. Run each college’s net price calculator for your situation.

How we built this guide

We reviewed official university technology pages and Federal Student Aid guidance on educational expenses. Cost tables and cards use College Scorecard data and our Best Universities methodology. Laptop program details were checked on school sites in May 2026 where the page says so.

Final thoughts

Online colleges that offer laptops and technology perks can lower barriers to remote study. Still, review eligibility, technology fees, ownership rules, software, and return policies before you enroll.

The best fit is not always the most expensive device. Match the technology perk to your program, then weigh typical cost after aid and debt before you enroll.

Disclaimer: Best Universities does not represent any college’s technology program. We do not provide financial or legal advice; confirm every detail with the institution.