GateWay Community College is a public institution in Phoenix, AZ, a Hispanic-serving institution with an urban campus setting, with about 4,538 undergraduates, typical net price of $13,339 after grants, and median earnings of $42,262 six years after enrollment.

Key facts for GateWay Community College

Tuition (in-state)
$2,358
Tuition (out-of-state)
$8,958
Total cost of attendance
$19,314
Average net price
$13,339
Acceptance rate
Not reported
Total enrollment
4,538
Graduation rate
Not reported
Median earnings, 6 years after entry
$42,262

Key rankings for GateWay Community College

Where GateWay Community College ranks among all institutions in the dataset (mixed types) nationwide on selected cost and outcome measures. Rank 1 is best on that measure (lowest cost or debt; highest earnings, retention, or graduation). These are single-measure standings, not Best Universities list placement.

#941 of 2,710

Net Price

#411 of 2,883

Earnings

#2,548 of 2,747

Graduation

#369 of 2,514

Debt

What stands out at GateWay Community College

GateWay Community College in Phoenix, AZ is a college.

  • Large city
  • 4,538 undergraduates
Average net price$13,339
Pell Grant recipient share27.5%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$42,262

Average net price after aid is lower than or close to the national median for similar schools, while six-year earnings meet or beat that median. On these two measures the pattern is comparatively favorable.

Best Universities methodology explains how grades and ranked-list placements are calculated.

Student measures: Cost, completion, earnings, retention, and debt.

Institution context: Enrollment, demographics, faculty, setting, and admissions.

At a glance

Cost, outcomes & access at GateWay Community College

Two related measures side by side for a quick scan.

Net Price and Earnings

Average net price (after aid)
$13,339
Median earnings 6 years after entry
$42,262

Retention and Graduation

First-year retention
Not reported
Graduation rate
Not reported

Acceptance and Pell Grant Share

Acceptance rate
Not reported
Undergraduate Pell recipient share
27.5%
Total cost and tuition

Annual figures on one dollar scale, so bar lengths are comparable within this chart. Total cost of attendance covers tuition, fees, and living costs. Listed tuition is the price before aid; average net price is what students paid after grants and scholarships.

Total cost of attendance$19,314
Listed tuition (in-state)$2,358
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$8,958
Average net price (after aid)$13,339
Average net price by family income

Average net price by family income for full-time, first-time undergraduates.

$0–$30k$12,325
$30k–$48k$12,007
$48k–$75k$15,243
$75k–$110k$16,930
$110k+$19,314

How GateWay Community College compares

Figures are for all institutions in the dataset (mixed types). State, region, and national columns use the middle value (median) for similar schools; retention uses averages for region and nation. Region shown: Southwest (region 6).

This school vs state, regional, and national benchmarks

Net price

This school$13,339
State (AZ)$19,006
Region$16,134
National$17,258

Earnings, 6 years

This school$42,262
State (AZ)$36,198
Region$33,836
National$35,678

Median debt

This school$6,750
State (AZ)$9,500
Region$11,000
National$13,621

Swipe sideways to compare state, region, and national figures.

Measure This school State (AZ) Region Nation
Net price$13,339Below national median$19,006$16,134$17,258
Earnings, 6 years$42,262Above national median$36,198$33,836$35,678
RetentionNot reported77.0%71.1%72.9%
GraduationNot reported57.0%56.5%58.2%
Acceptance rateNot reported89.9%83.0%77.8%
Pell share27.5%Below national median41.6%45.5%39.9%
Median debt$6,750Below national median$9,500$11,000$13,621
3-year cohort default rate0.0%About the same0.0%0.0%0.0%

Recent 3-year cohort default rates are near zero because of the federal student loan payment pause and are not useful for school-to-school comparison.

Campus & institution details for GateWay Community College

Campus settingLarge city
Official websitewww.gatewaycc.edu/
Student–faculty ratio15:1
Full-time faculty100.0%
Avg monthly faculty salary$9,489

Share of undergraduates in each group. Gender and race or ethnicity are reported separately, so each set totals about 100%.

Women69.0%
Men31.1%
Black or African American11.3%
Hispanic / Latino51.7%
White23.6%
Asian3.1%
Two or more races5.7%
International students0.2%

Confirm program details and current staffing on the college website.

Frequently asked questions about GateWay Community College

Common questions about GateWay Community College, answered with Best Universities cost and outcome figures. For how we rank schools, use the methodology link in the header; for deadlines and aid, rely on the college’s official site.

Where is GateWay Community College located?

GateWay Community College is located in Phoenix, AZ. If the college has more than one campus, confirm addresses and program locations on the school's official site or with the admissions office.

What kind of school is GateWay Community College?

GateWay Community College is a college. Best Universities groups similar schools this way so you can compare them fairly. Confirm program level (undergraduate vs graduate) on the college's site.

How much does it cost to attend GateWay Community College (tuition and net price)?

Listed sticker tuition is $2,358 for in-state students and $8,958 for out-of-state students. Average net price (typical annual cost after grant and scholarship aid for full-time, first-time undergraduates) is about $13,339. Your actual net price depends on income, residency, and aid.

What is GateWay Community College's acceptance rate?

An overall acceptance rate is not shown for GateWay Community College. That is common for open-admission colleges, specialized institutions, or when figures are suppressed. Contact admissions for program-specific requirements.

How large is GateWay Community College's undergraduate student body?

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,538. Enrollment changes over time and may span multiple campuses depending on how the school reports.

What are completion and earnings outcomes for GateWay Community College?

Median earnings six years after entry at GateWay Community College are roughly $42,262. Outcomes vary widely by major, occupation, and region. Individual trajectories differ from these population-level measures.

How does Best Universities rank GateWay Community College?

Among similar schools nationwide, GateWay Community College stands as follows on selected measures: Average net price (#941 of 2,710); Median earnings, 6 years after entry (#411 of 2,883); Graduation rate (#2,548 of 2,747); Median loan debt (#369 of 2,514). Those are single-measure ranks, not a single overall list place. See the methodology page for how Best Universities builds ranked lists.

Where should I go for admissions and official information about GateWay Community College?

For application deadlines, requirements, campus visits, and program lists, use GateWay Community College’s official website. Best Universities publishes cost and outcome figures for comparison; it does not replace the institution’s admissions or financial aid office.

All figures for GateWay Community College Expand to view

A fuller table of the figures Best Universities uses for this school. Useful if you are double-checking a number.

All figures for GateWay Community College
FieldValue
InstitutionGateWay Community College
Official websitewww.gatewaycc.edu/
City, statePhoenix, AZ
School typeCollege
Undergraduate enrollment4,538
Listed tuition (in-state)$2,358
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$8,958
Listed tuition (generic)$2,358
Total cost of attendance$19,314
Room and board (on campus)Not reported
Average net price$13,339
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$42,262
Median earnings, 8 years after entry$43,557
Median earnings, 10 years after entry$46,147
Median loan debt$6,750
3-year cohort default rate0.0%
First-year retentionNot reported
Graduation rate (4-year programs)28.8%
Graduation rate (shorter programs)Not reported
Acceptance rateNot reported
SAT averageNot reported
ACT averageNot reported
Pell Grant share27.5%
Share with federal loans11.9%
Part-time enrollment share75.9%
Campus settingLarge city
Student–faculty ratio15
Avg monthly faculty salary$9,489
Full-time faculty share100.0%
Online onlyNo
HBCUNo
SAT midpoint, MathNot reported
SAT midpoint, Reading & WritingNot reported
Share of undergraduates, women69.0%
Share of undergraduates, men31.1%
Share of undergraduates, Black11.3%
Share of undergraduates, Hispanic51.7%
Share of undergraduates, White23.6%
Share of undergraduates, Asian3.1%
Share of undergraduates, two or more races5.7%
Share of undergraduates, international0.2%
Net price, family income $0–30k$12,325
Net price, family income $30–48k$12,007
Net price, family income $48–75k$15,243
Net price, family income $75–110k$16,930
Net price, family income $110k+$19,314

Sources for GateWay Community College

Figures from the same school data Best Universities uses for rankings. Shortlist with them, then verify on the college’s official site.