Princeton University is a highly selective private nonprofit four-year college in Princeton, NJ, focused on bachelor’s-level study with an urban campus setting, with about 5,709 undergraduates, an acceptance rate of about 4.6%, listed tuition around $62,688 and typical net price of $6,128 after grants, first-year retention of 98.4%, about 97.6% of students graduating within six years, and median earnings of $87,815 six years after enrollment.

Grade for Princeton University

Letter grades from Best Universities methodology. Overall grade blends the categories below for schools in that ranking cohort.

Overall grade

A-

Best Universities compares this school with national benchmarks for similar institutions.

How are grades calculated?

Affordability
A

$6,128Average net price

Outcomes
B+

97.6%Graduation rate

Career
A+

$87,815Median earnings, 6 years after entry

Economic Access
C

19.2%Pell Grant recipient share

Key facts for Princeton University

Tuition (in-state)
$62,688
Tuition (out-of-state)
$62,688
Total cost of attendance
$84,040
Average net price
$6,128
Acceptance rate
4.6%
Total enrollment
5,709
Graduation rate
97.6%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry
$87,815

Key rankings for Princeton University

Where Princeton University ranks among four-year colleges nationwide on selected cost and outcome measures. Rank 1 is best on that measure (lowest cost or debt; highest earnings, retention, or graduation). These are single-measure standings, not Best Universities list placement.

#55 of 1,811

Net Price

#39 of 1,816

Earnings

#69 of 1,808

Retention

#26 of 1,850

Graduation

#50 of 1,767

Debt

What stands out at Princeton University

Princeton University in Princeton, NJ is a four-year college where bachelor’s-level study is the main focus.

  • Small city
  • 5,709 undergraduates
Average net price$6,128
Acceptance rate4.6%
Pell Grant recipient share19.2%
Graduation rate97.6%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$87,815
First-year retention98.4%

Average net price after aid is lower than or close to the national median for similar schools, while six-year earnings meet or beat that median. On these two measures the pattern is comparatively favorable.

First-year retention and graduation both track at or above national benchmarks for similar schools, suggesting relatively steady progress for students who start here.

Admission is more selective than the national middle for similar schools and Pell Grant use runs lower—typical of campuses where access is shaped more by selectivity than by very high financial need in the enrolled class.

Best Universities methodology explains how grades and ranked-list placements are calculated.

Student measures: Cost, completion, earnings, retention, and debt.

Institution context: Enrollment, demographics, faculty, setting, and admissions.

At a glance

Cost, outcomes & access at Princeton University

Two related measures side by side for a quick scan.

Net Price and Earnings

Average net price (after aid)
$6,128
Median earnings 6 years after entry
$87,815

Retention and Graduation

First-year retention
98.4%
Graduation rate (within 6 years)
97.6%

Acceptance and Pell Grant Share

Acceptance rate
4.6%
Undergraduate Pell recipient share
19.2%
Total cost and tuition

Annual figures on one dollar scale, so bar lengths are comparable within this chart. Total cost of attendance covers tuition, fees, and living costs. Listed tuition is the price before aid; average net price is what students paid after grants and scholarships.

Total cost of attendance$84,040
Listed tuition (in-state)$62,688
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$62,688
Room and board (on campus)$20,250
Average net price (after aid)$6,128

In-state tuition is above the national median of $19,284 for similar four-year colleges, while out-of-state tuition is above the national median of $26,816.

How Princeton University compares

Figures are for four-year colleges. State, region, and national columns use the middle value (median) for similar schools; retention uses averages for region and nation. Region shown: Mid East (region 2).

This school vs state, regional, and national benchmarks

Net price

This school$6,128
State (NJ)$18,745
Region$21,346
National$19,923

Earnings, 6 years

This school$87,815
State (NJ)$48,084
Region$49,117
National$45,225

Retention

This school98.4%
State (NJ)79.9%
Region79.4%
National74.9%

Graduation

This school97.6%
State (NJ)54.8%
Region58.4%
National54.4%

Median debt

This school$10,320
State (NJ)$22,542
Region$24,872
National$23,250

Swipe sideways to compare state, region, and national figures.

Measure This school State (NJ) Region Nation
Net price$6,128Below national median$18,745$21,346$19,923
Earnings, 6 years$87,815Above national median$48,084$49,117$45,225
Retention98.4%Above national median79.9%79.4%74.9%
Graduation97.6%Above national median54.8%58.4%54.4%
Acceptance rate4.6%Below national median78.1%76.7%77.0%
Pell share19.2%Below national median39.9%33.4%33.9%
Median debt$10,320Below national median$22,542$24,872$23,250
3-year cohort default rate0.0%About the same0.0%0.0%0.0%

Recent 3-year cohort default rates are near zero because of the federal student loan payment pause and are not useful for school-to-school comparison.

Campus & institution details for Princeton University

Campus settingSmall city
Official websitewww.princeton.edu/
Student–faculty ratio5:1
Full-time faculty86.7%
Avg monthly faculty salary$25,354
SAT midpointReading & Writing 745 · Math 770

Share of undergraduates in each group. Gender and race or ethnicity are reported separately, so each set totals about 100%.

Women50.4%
Men49.6%
Black or African American8.7%
Hispanic / Latino10.1%
White33.7%
Asian23.4%
Two or more races7.2%
International students12.6%

Confirm program details and current staffing on the college website.

Frequently asked questions about Princeton University

Common questions about Princeton University, answered with Best Universities cost and outcome figures. For how we rank schools, use the methodology link in the header; for deadlines and aid, rely on the college’s official site.

Where is Princeton University located?

Princeton University is located in Princeton, NJ. If the college has more than one campus, confirm addresses and program locations on the school's official site or with the admissions office.

What kind of school is Princeton University?

Princeton University is a private nonprofit four-year college. Best Universities compares it with similar four-year institutions for ranking and benchmark purposes.

How much does it cost to attend Princeton University (tuition and net price)?

Listed sticker tuition is $62,688 for in-state students and $62,688 for out-of-state students. Average net price (typical annual cost after grant and scholarship aid for full-time, first-time undergraduates) is about $6,128. Your actual net price depends on income, residency, and aid.

What is Princeton University's acceptance rate?

The overall undergraduate acceptance rate is about 4.6% for the year shown. Selectivity can vary by program or campus; check admissions for the path you care about.

How large is Princeton University's undergraduate student body?

Undergraduate enrollment is about 5,709. Enrollment changes over time and may span multiple campuses depending on how the school reports.

What are completion and earnings outcomes for Princeton University?

Median earnings six years after entry at Princeton University are roughly $87,815. Outcomes vary widely by major, occupation, and region. About 97.6% of students graduate on time or soon after. Individual trajectories differ from these population-level measures.

How does Best Universities rank Princeton University?

Among similar schools nationwide, Princeton University stands as follows on selected measures: Average net price (#55 of 1,811); Median earnings, 6 years after entry (#39 of 1,816); First-year retention (#69 of 1,808); Graduation rate (#26 of 1,850); Median loan debt (#50 of 1,767). Those are single-measure ranks, not a single overall list place. See the methodology page for how Best Universities builds ranked lists.

Where should I go for admissions and official information about Princeton University?

For application deadlines, requirements, campus visits, and program lists, use Princeton University’s official website. Best Universities publishes cost and outcome figures for comparison; it does not replace the institution’s admissions or financial aid office.

All figures for Princeton University Expand to view

A fuller table of the figures Best Universities uses for this school. Useful if you are double-checking a number.

All figures for Princeton University
FieldValue
InstitutionPrinceton University
Official websitewww.princeton.edu/
City, statePrinceton, NJ
School typeFour-year college
Undergraduate enrollment5,709
Listed tuition (in-state)$62,688
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$62,688
Listed tuition (generic)$62,688
Total cost of attendance$84,040
Room and board (on campus)$20,250
Average net price$6,128
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$87,815
Median earnings, 8 years after entry$112,152
Median earnings, 10 years after entry$110,066
Median loan debt$10,320
3-year cohort default rate0.0%
First-year retention98.4%
Graduation rate (4-year programs)97.6%
Graduation rate (shorter programs)Not reported
Acceptance rate4.6%
SAT average1,553
ACT average34
Pell Grant share19.2%
Share with federal loans2.0%
Part-time enrollment share0.0%
Campus settingSmall city
Student–faculty ratio5
Avg monthly faculty salary$25,354
Full-time faculty share86.7%
Online onlyNo
HBCUNo
SAT midpoint, Math770
SAT midpoint, Reading & Writing745
Share of undergraduates, women50.4%
Share of undergraduates, men49.6%
Share of undergraduates, Black8.7%
Share of undergraduates, Hispanic10.1%
Share of undergraduates, White33.7%
Share of undergraduates, Asian23.4%
Share of undergraduates, two or more races7.2%
Share of undergraduates, international12.6%
Net price, family income $0–30kNot reported
Net price, family income $30–48kNot reported
Net price, family income $48–75kNot reported
Net price, family income $75–110kNot reported
Net price, family income $110k+Not reported

Sources for Princeton University

Figures from the same school data Best Universities uses for rankings. Shortlist with them, then verify on the college’s official site.