Rice University is a highly selective private nonprofit four-year college in Houston, TX, focused on bachelor’s-level study with an urban campus setting, with about 4,776 undergraduates, an acceptance rate of about 8.0%, listed tuition around $64,144 and typical net price of $13,370 after grants, first-year retention of 97.4%, about 94.6% of students graduating within six years, and median earnings of $79,751 six years after enrollment.

Grade for Rice University

Letter grades from Best Universities methodology. Overall grade blends the categories below for schools in that ranking cohort.

Overall grade

B+

Best Universities compares this school with national benchmarks for similar institutions.

How are grades calculated?

Affordability
B+

$13,370Average net price

Outcomes
B+

94.6%Graduation rate

Career
A+

$79,751Median earnings, 6 years after entry

Economic Access
C

17.0%Pell Grant recipient share

Key facts for Rice University

Tuition (in-state)
$64,144
Tuition (out-of-state)
$64,144
Total cost of attendance
$79,788
Average net price
$13,370
Acceptance rate
8.0%
Total enrollment
4,776
Graduation rate
94.6%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry
$79,751

Key rankings for Rice University

Where Rice University ranks among four-year colleges nationwide on selected cost and outcome measures. Rank 1 is best on that measure (lowest cost or debt; highest earnings, retention, or graduation). These are single-measure standings, not Best Universities list placement.

#387 of 1,811

Net Price

#83 of 1,816

Earnings

#91 of 1,808

Retention

#46 of 1,850

Graduation

#58 of 1,767

Debt

What stands out at Rice University

Rice University in Houston, TX is a four-year college where bachelor’s-level study is the main focus.

  • Large city
  • 4,776 undergraduates
Average net price$13,370
Acceptance rate8.0%
Pell Grant recipient share17.0%
Graduation rate94.6%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$79,751
First-year retention97.4%

Average net price after aid is lower than or close to the national median for similar schools, while six-year earnings meet or beat that median. On these two measures the pattern is comparatively favorable.

First-year retention and graduation both track at or above national benchmarks for similar schools, suggesting relatively steady progress for students who start here.

Admission is more selective than the national middle for similar schools and Pell Grant use runs lower—typical of campuses where access is shaped more by selectivity than by very high financial need in the enrolled class.

Best Universities methodology explains how grades and ranked-list placements are calculated.

Student measures: Cost, completion, earnings, retention, and debt.

Institution context: Enrollment, demographics, faculty, setting, and admissions.

At a glance

Cost, outcomes & access at Rice University

Two related measures side by side for a quick scan.

Net Price and Earnings

Average net price (after aid)
$13,370
Median earnings 6 years after entry
$79,751

Retention and Graduation

First-year retention
97.4%
Graduation rate (within 6 years)
94.6%

Acceptance and Pell Grant Share

Acceptance rate
8.0%
Undergraduate Pell recipient share
17.0%
Total cost and tuition

Annual figures on one dollar scale, so bar lengths are comparable within this chart. Total cost of attendance covers tuition, fees, and living costs. Listed tuition is the price before aid; average net price is what students paid after grants and scholarships.

Total cost of attendance$79,788
Listed tuition (in-state)$64,144
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$64,144
Room and board (on campus)$18,100
Average net price (after aid)$13,370

In-state tuition is above the national median of $19,284 for similar four-year colleges, while out-of-state tuition is above the national median of $26,816.

How Rice University compares

Figures are for four-year colleges. State, region, and national columns use the middle value (median) for similar schools; retention uses averages for region and nation. Region shown: Southwest (region 6).

This school vs state, regional, and national benchmarks

Net price

This school$13,370
State (TX)$18,896
Region$16,748
National$19,923

Earnings, 6 years

This school$79,751
State (TX)$45,290
Region$43,380
National$45,225

Retention

This school97.4%
State (TX)69.3%
Region67.6%
National74.9%

Graduation

This school94.6%
State (TX)48.2%
Region46.1%
National54.4%

Median debt

This school$11,000
State (TX)$22,312
Region$21,276
National$23,250

Swipe sideways to compare state, region, and national figures.

Measure This school State (TX) Region Nation
Net price$13,370Below national median$18,896$16,748$19,923
Earnings, 6 years$79,751Above national median$45,290$43,380$45,225
Retention97.4%Above national median69.3%67.6%74.9%
Graduation94.6%Above national median48.2%46.1%54.4%
Acceptance rate8.0%Below national median83.9%83.9%77.0%
Pell share17.0%Below national median42.2%41.2%33.9%
Median debt$11,000Below national median$22,312$21,276$23,250
3-year cohort default rate0.0%About the same0.0%0.0%0.0%

Recent 3-year cohort default rates are near zero because of the federal student loan payment pause and are not useful for school-to-school comparison.

Campus & institution details for Rice University

Campus settingLarge city
Official websitewww.rice.edu/
Student–faculty ratio6:1
Full-time faculty83.8%
Avg monthly faculty salary$18,454
SAT midpointReading & Writing 745 · Math 785

Share of undergraduates in each group. Gender and race or ethnicity are reported separately, so each set totals about 100%.

Women49.6%
Men50.4%
Black or African American7.9%
Hispanic / Latino16.7%
White25.6%
Asian29.1%
Two or more races5.5%
International students12.8%

Confirm program details and current staffing on the college website.

Frequently asked questions about Rice University

Common questions about Rice University, answered with Best Universities cost and outcome figures. For how we rank schools, use the methodology link in the header; for deadlines and aid, rely on the college’s official site.

Where is Rice University located?

Rice University is located in Houston, TX. If the college has more than one campus, confirm addresses and program locations on the school's official site or with the admissions office.

What kind of school is Rice University?

Rice University is a private nonprofit four-year college. Best Universities compares it with similar four-year institutions for ranking and benchmark purposes.

How much does it cost to attend Rice University (tuition and net price)?

Listed sticker tuition is $64,144 for in-state students and $64,144 for out-of-state students. Average net price (typical annual cost after grant and scholarship aid for full-time, first-time undergraduates) is about $13,370. Your actual net price depends on income, residency, and aid.

What is Rice University's acceptance rate?

The overall undergraduate acceptance rate is about 8.0% for the year shown. Selectivity can vary by program or campus; check admissions for the path you care about.

How large is Rice University's undergraduate student body?

Undergraduate enrollment is about 4,776. Enrollment changes over time and may span multiple campuses depending on how the school reports.

What are completion and earnings outcomes for Rice University?

Median earnings six years after entry at Rice University are roughly $79,751. Outcomes vary widely by major, occupation, and region. About 94.6% of students graduate on time or soon after. Individual trajectories differ from these population-level measures.

How does Best Universities rank Rice University?

Among similar schools nationwide, Rice University stands as follows on selected measures: Average net price (#387 of 1,811); Median earnings, 6 years after entry (#83 of 1,816); First-year retention (#91 of 1,808); Graduation rate (#46 of 1,850); Median loan debt (#58 of 1,767). Those are single-measure ranks, not a single overall list place. See the methodology page for how Best Universities builds ranked lists.

Where should I go for admissions and official information about Rice University?

For application deadlines, requirements, campus visits, and program lists, use Rice University’s official website. Best Universities publishes cost and outcome figures for comparison; it does not replace the institution’s admissions or financial aid office.

All figures for Rice University Expand to view

A fuller table of the figures Best Universities uses for this school. Useful if you are double-checking a number.

All figures for Rice University
FieldValue
InstitutionRice University
Official websitewww.rice.edu/
City, stateHouston, TX
School typeFour-year college
Undergraduate enrollment4,776
Listed tuition (in-state)$64,144
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$64,144
Listed tuition (generic)$64,144
Total cost of attendance$79,788
Room and board (on campus)$18,100
Average net price$13,370
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$79,751
Median earnings, 8 years after entry$78,690
Median earnings, 10 years after entry$89,718
Median loan debt$11,000
3-year cohort default rate0.0%
First-year retention97.4%
Graduation rate (4-year programs)94.6%
Graduation rate (shorter programs)Not reported
Acceptance rate8.0%
SAT average1,553
ACT average35
Pell Grant share17.0%
Share with federal loans6.5%
Part-time enrollment share2.2%
Campus settingLarge city
Student–faculty ratio6
Avg monthly faculty salary$18,454
Full-time faculty share83.8%
Online onlyNo
HBCUNo
SAT midpoint, Math785
SAT midpoint, Reading & Writing745
Share of undergraduates, women49.6%
Share of undergraduates, men50.4%
Share of undergraduates, Black7.9%
Share of undergraduates, Hispanic16.7%
Share of undergraduates, White25.6%
Share of undergraduates, Asian29.1%
Share of undergraduates, two or more races5.5%
Share of undergraduates, international12.8%
Net price, family income $0–30kNot reported
Net price, family income $30–48kNot reported
Net price, family income $48–75kNot reported
Net price, family income $75–110kNot reported
Net price, family income $110k+Not reported

Sources for Rice University

Figures from the same school data Best Universities uses for rankings. Shortlist with them, then verify on the college’s official site.