Stanford University is a highly selective private nonprofit four-year college in Stanford, CA, focused on bachelor’s-level study with a suburban campus setting, with about 7,554 undergraduates, an acceptance rate of about 3.6%, listed tuition around $65,910 and typical net price of $13,807 after grants, first-year retention of 98.2%, about 91.9% of students graduating within six years, and median earnings of $102,887 six years after enrollment.

Grade for Stanford University

Letter grades from Best Universities methodology. Overall grade blends the categories below for schools in that ranking cohort.

Overall grade

B+

Best Universities compares this school with national benchmarks for similar institutions.

How are grades calculated?

Affordability
B+

$13,807Average net price

Outcomes
B+

91.9%Graduation rate

Career
A+

$102,887Median earnings, 6 years after entry

Economic Access
C

19.2%Pell Grant recipient share

Key facts for Stanford University

Tuition (in-state)
$65,910
Tuition (out-of-state)
$65,910
Total cost of attendance
$87,833
Average net price
$13,807
Acceptance rate
3.6%
Total enrollment
7,554
Graduation rate
91.9%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry
$102,887

Key rankings for Stanford University

Where Stanford University ranks among four-year colleges nationwide on selected cost and outcome measures. Rank 1 is best on that measure (lowest cost or debt; highest earnings, retention, or graduation). These are single-measure standings, not Best Universities list placement.

#416 of 1,811

Net Price

#11 of 1,816

Earnings

#73 of 1,808

Retention

#68 of 1,850

Graduation

#73 of 1,767

Debt

What stands out at Stanford University

Stanford University in Stanford, CA is a four-year college where bachelor’s-level study is the main focus.

  • Large suburb
  • 7,554 undergraduates
Average net price$13,807
Acceptance rate3.6%
Pell Grant recipient share19.2%
Graduation rate91.9%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$102,887
First-year retention98.2%

Average net price after aid is lower than or close to the national median for similar schools, while six-year earnings meet or beat that median. On these two measures the pattern is comparatively favorable.

First-year retention and graduation both track at or above national benchmarks for similar schools, suggesting relatively steady progress for students who start here.

Admission is more selective than the national middle for similar schools and Pell Grant use runs lower—typical of campuses where access is shaped more by selectivity than by very high financial need in the enrolled class.

Best Universities methodology explains how grades and ranked-list placements are calculated.

Student measures: Cost, completion, earnings, retention, and debt.

Institution context: Enrollment, demographics, faculty, setting, and admissions.

At a glance

Cost, outcomes & access at Stanford University

Two related measures side by side for a quick scan.

Net Price and Earnings

Average net price (after aid)
$13,807
Median earnings 6 years after entry
$102,887

Retention and Graduation

First-year retention
98.2%
Graduation rate (within 6 years)
91.9%

Acceptance and Pell Grant Share

Acceptance rate
3.6%
Undergraduate Pell recipient share
19.2%
Total cost and tuition

Annual figures on one dollar scale, so bar lengths are comparable within this chart. Total cost of attendance covers tuition, fees, and living costs. Listed tuition is the price before aid; average net price is what students paid after grants and scholarships.

Total cost of attendance$87,833
Listed tuition (in-state)$65,910
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$65,910
Room and board (on campus)$21,315
Average net price (after aid)$13,807

In-state tuition is above the national median of $19,284 for similar four-year colleges, while out-of-state tuition is above the national median of $26,816.

How Stanford University compares

Figures are for four-year colleges. State, region, and national columns use the middle value (median) for similar schools; retention uses averages for region and nation. Region shown: Far West (region 8).

This school vs state, regional, and national benchmarks

Net price

This school$13,807
State (CA)$25,305
Region$22,778
National$19,923

Earnings, 6 years

This school$102,887
State (CA)$51,784
Region$49,182
National$45,225

Retention

This school98.2%
State (CA)82.5%
Region78.1%
National74.9%

Graduation

This school91.9%
State (CA)61.5%
Region59.7%
National54.4%

Median debt

This school$12,000
State (CA)$22,000
Region$21,370
National$23,250

Swipe sideways to compare state, region, and national figures.

Measure This school State (CA) Region Nation
Net price$13,807Below national median$25,305$22,778$19,923
Earnings, 6 years$102,887Above national median$51,784$49,182$45,225
Retention98.2%Above national median82.5%78.1%74.9%
Graduation91.9%Above national median61.5%59.7%54.4%
Acceptance rate3.6%Below national median75.2%79.6%77.0%
Pell share19.2%Below national median35.1%32.7%33.9%
Median debt$12,000Below national median$22,000$21,370$23,250
3-year cohort default rate0.0%About the same0.0%0.0%0.0%

Recent 3-year cohort default rates are near zero because of the federal student loan payment pause and are not useful for school-to-school comparison.

Campus & institution details for Stanford University

Campus settingLarge suburb
Official websitewww.stanford.edu/
Student–faculty ratio6:1
Full-time faculty99.2%
Avg monthly faculty salary$25,198
SAT midpointReading & Writing 745 · Math 775

Share of undergraduates in each group. Gender and race or ethnicity are reported separately, so each set totals about 100%.

Women51.6%
Men48.4%
Black or African American7.4%
Hispanic / Latino17.1%
White23.0%
Asian28.7%
Two or more races9.6%
International students12.8%

Confirm program details and current staffing on the college website.

Frequently asked questions about Stanford University

Common questions about Stanford University, answered with Best Universities cost and outcome figures. For how we rank schools, use the methodology link in the header; for deadlines and aid, rely on the college’s official site.

Where is Stanford University located?

Stanford University is located in Stanford, CA. If the college has more than one campus, confirm addresses and program locations on the school's official site or with the admissions office.

What kind of school is Stanford University?

Stanford University is a private nonprofit four-year college. Best Universities compares it with similar four-year institutions for ranking and benchmark purposes.

How much does it cost to attend Stanford University (tuition and net price)?

Listed sticker tuition is $65,910 for in-state students and $65,910 for out-of-state students. Average net price (typical annual cost after grant and scholarship aid for full-time, first-time undergraduates) is about $13,807. Your actual net price depends on income, residency, and aid.

What is Stanford University's acceptance rate?

The overall undergraduate acceptance rate is about 3.6% for the year shown. Selectivity can vary by program or campus; check admissions for the path you care about.

How large is Stanford University's undergraduate student body?

Undergraduate enrollment is about 7,554. Enrollment changes over time and may span multiple campuses depending on how the school reports.

What are completion and earnings outcomes for Stanford University?

Median earnings six years after entry at Stanford University are roughly $102,887. Outcomes vary widely by major, occupation, and region. About 91.9% of students graduate on time or soon after. Individual trajectories differ from these population-level measures.

How does Best Universities rank Stanford University?

Among similar schools nationwide, Stanford University stands as follows on selected measures: Average net price (#416 of 1,811); Median earnings, 6 years after entry (#11 of 1,816); First-year retention (#73 of 1,808); Graduation rate (#68 of 1,850); Median loan debt (#73 of 1,767). Those are single-measure ranks, not a single overall list place. See the methodology page for how Best Universities builds ranked lists.

Where should I go for admissions and official information about Stanford University?

For application deadlines, requirements, campus visits, and program lists, use Stanford University’s official website. Best Universities publishes cost and outcome figures for comparison; it does not replace the institution’s admissions or financial aid office.

All figures for Stanford University Expand to view

A fuller table of the figures Best Universities uses for this school. Useful if you are double-checking a number.

All figures for Stanford University
FieldValue
InstitutionStanford University
Official websitewww.stanford.edu/
City, stateStanford, CA
School typeFour-year college
Undergraduate enrollment7,554
Listed tuition (in-state)$65,910
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$65,910
Listed tuition (generic)$65,910
Total cost of attendance$87,833
Room and board (on campus)$21,315
Average net price$13,807
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$102,887
Median earnings, 8 years after entry$109,851
Median earnings, 10 years after entry$124,080
Median loan debt$12,000
3-year cohort default rate0.0%
First-year retention98.2%
Graduation rate (4-year programs)91.9%
Graduation rate (shorter programs)Not reported
Acceptance rate3.6%
SAT average1,553
ACT average35
Pell Grant share19.2%
Share with federal loans6.2%
Part-time enrollment share0.0%
Campus settingLarge suburb
Student–faculty ratio6
Avg monthly faculty salary$25,198
Full-time faculty share99.2%
Online onlyNo
HBCUNo
SAT midpoint, Math775
SAT midpoint, Reading & Writing745
Share of undergraduates, women51.6%
Share of undergraduates, men48.4%
Share of undergraduates, Black7.4%
Share of undergraduates, Hispanic17.1%
Share of undergraduates, White23.0%
Share of undergraduates, Asian28.7%
Share of undergraduates, two or more races9.6%
Share of undergraduates, international12.8%
Net price, family income $0–30kNot reported
Net price, family income $30–48kNot reported
Net price, family income $48–75kNot reported
Net price, family income $75–110kNot reported
Net price, family income $110k+Not reported

Sources for Stanford University

Figures from the same school data Best Universities uses for rankings. Shortlist with them, then verify on the college’s official site.