Private Nonprofit Institution Medford, MA
Tufts University
Four-year college
Tufts University is a private nonprofit four-year college in Medford, MA, with about 7,061 undergraduates and a suburban campus.
Compared with similar four-year colleges, graduation, first-year retention, median earnings six years after entry, and average net price are higher. About 12.0% of undergraduates receive a Pell Grant, compared with a national median of 33.9%.
Graduation is 93.5%, first-year retention is 95.5%, and median earnings six years after entry are $68,337. The comparable national figures are 54.4%, 74.9%, and $45,225. Average net price is $39,998, above the national median of $19,923.
The university admits about 11.5% of applicants.
Grade for Tufts University
Letter grades from Best Universities methodology. Overall grade blends the categories below for schools in that ranking cohort.
Overall grade
C+
Best Universities compares this school with national benchmarks for similar institutions.
$39,998Average net price
93.5%Graduation rate
$68,337Median earnings, 6 years after entry
12.0%Pell Grant recipient share
Key facts for Tufts University
Key rankings for Tufts University
Where Tufts University ranks among four-year colleges nationwide on selected cost and outcome measures. Rank 1 is best on that measure (lowest cost or debt; highest earnings, retention, or graduation). These are single-measure standings, not Best Universities list placement.
#1,731 of 1,811
Net Price
#138 of 1,816
Earnings
#126 of 1,808
Retention
#56 of 1,850
Graduation
#205 of 1,767
Debt
What stands out at Tufts University
Tufts University in Medford, MA is a private nonprofit four-year college where bachelor’s-level study is the main focus.
- Large suburb
- 7,061 undergraduates
Key figures
What stands out
Both average net price after aid and six-year earnings register above national medians for similar schools, consistent with a higher cost that is paired with stronger early-career pay in this data.
First-year retention and graduation both track at or above national benchmarks for similar schools, suggesting relatively steady progress for students who start here.
Admission is more selective than the national middle for similar schools and Pell Grant use runs lower, typical of campuses where access is shaped more by selectivity than by very high financial need in the enrolled class.
Best Universities methodology explains how grades and ranked-list placements are calculated.
Student measures: Cost, completion, earnings, retention, and debt.
Institution context: Enrollment, demographics, faculty, setting, and admissions.
At a glance
Cost, outcomes & access at Tufts University
Two related measures side by side for a quick scan.
Net Price and Earnings
Retention and Graduation
Acceptance and Pell Grant Share
Annual figures on one dollar scale, so bar lengths are comparable within this chart. Total cost of attendance covers tuition, fees, and living costs. Listed tuition is the price before aid; average net price is what students paid after grants and scholarships.
In-state tuition is above the national median of $19,284 for similar four-year colleges, while out-of-state tuition is above the national median of $26,816.
How Tufts University compares
Figures are for four-year colleges. State, region, and national columns use the middle value (median) for similar schools; retention uses averages for region and nation. Region shown: New England (region 1).
Swipe sideways to compare state, region, and national figures.
| Measure | This school | State (MA) | Region | Nation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net price | $39,998Above national median | $26,706 | $25,381 | $19,923 |
| Earnings, 6 years | $68,337Above national median | $51,578 | $50,233 | $45,225 |
| Retention | 95.5%Above national median | 83.8% | 80.2% | 74.9% |
| Graduation | 93.5%Above national median | 68.2% | 64.9% | 54.4% |
| Acceptance rate | 11.5%Below national median | 70.3% | 75.3% | 77.0% |
| Pell share | 12.0%Below national median | 23.1% | 25.3% | 33.9% |
| Median debt | $16,250Below national median | $25,000 | $25,000 | $23,250 |
| 3-year cohort default rate | 0.0%About the same | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
Recent 3-year cohort default rates are near zero because of the federal student loan payment pause and are not useful for school-to-school comparison.
Campus & institution details for Tufts University
Campus overview
Undergraduate demographics
Share of undergraduates in each group. Gender and race or ethnicity are reported separately, so each set totals about 100%.
Confirm program details and current staffing on the college website.
Frequently asked questions about Tufts University
Common questions about Tufts University, answered with Best Universities cost and outcome figures. For how we rank schools, use the methodology link in the header; for deadlines and aid, rely on the college’s official site.
Where is Tufts University located?
Tufts University is located in Medford, MA. If the college has more than one campus, confirm addresses and program locations on the school's official site or with the admissions office.
What kind of school is Tufts University?
Tufts University is a private nonprofit four-year college. Best Universities compares it with similar four-year institutions for ranking and benchmark purposes.
How much does it cost to attend Tufts University (tuition and net price)?
Listed sticker tuition is $70,704 for in-state students and $70,704 for out-of-state students. Average net price (typical annual cost after grant and scholarship aid for full-time, first-time undergraduates) is about $39,998. Your actual net price depends on income, residency, and aid.
What is Tufts University's acceptance rate?
The overall undergraduate acceptance rate is about 11.5% for the year shown. Selectivity can vary by program or campus; check admissions for the path you care about.
How large is Tufts University's undergraduate student body?
Undergraduate enrollment is about 7,061. Enrollment changes over time and may span multiple campuses depending on how the school reports.
What are completion and earnings outcomes for Tufts University?
Median earnings six years after entry at Tufts University are roughly $68,337. Outcomes vary widely by major, occupation, and region. About 93.5% of students graduate on time or soon after. Individual trajectories differ from these population-level measures.
How does Best Universities rank Tufts University?
Among similar schools nationwide, Tufts University stands as follows on selected measures: Average net price (#1,731 of 1,811); Median earnings, 6 years after entry (#138 of 1,816); First-year retention (#126 of 1,808); Graduation rate (#56 of 1,850); Median loan debt (#205 of 1,767). Those are single-measure ranks, not a single overall list place. See the methodology page for how Best Universities builds ranked lists.
Where should I go for admissions and official information about Tufts University?
For application deadlines, requirements, campus visits, and program lists, use Tufts University’s official website. Best Universities publishes cost and outcome figures for comparison; it does not replace the institution’s admissions or financial aid office.
All figures for Tufts University Expand to view
A fuller table of the figures Best Universities uses for this school. Useful if you are double-checking a number.
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Institution | Tufts University |
| Official website | https://www.tufts.edu/ |
| City, state | Medford, MA |
| School type | Four-year college |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 7,061 |
| Listed tuition (in-state) | $70,704 |
| Listed tuition (out-of-state) | $70,704 |
| Listed tuition (generic) | $70,704 |
| Total cost of attendance | $88,300 |
| Room and board (on campus) | $18,588 |
| Average net price | $39,998 |
| Median earnings, 6 years after entry | $68,337 |
| Median earnings, 8 years after entry | $70,761 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entry | $83,214 |
| Median loan debt | $16,250 |
| 3-year cohort default rate | 0.0% |
| First-year retention | 95.5% |
| Graduation rate (4-year programs) | 93.5% |
| Graduation rate (shorter programs) | Not reported |
| Acceptance rate | 11.5% |
| SAT average | 1,513 |
| ACT average | 34 |
| Pell Grant share | 12.0% |
| Share with federal loans | 18.9% |
| Part-time enrollment share | 1.9% |
| Campus setting | Large suburb |
| Student–faculty ratio | 10 |
| Avg monthly faculty salary | $14,205 |
| Full-time faculty share | 64.2% |
| Online only | No |
| HBCU | No |
| SAT midpoint, Math | 760 |
| SAT midpoint, Reading & Writing | 735 |
| Share of undergraduates, women | 56.5% |
| Share of undergraduates, men | 43.5% |
| Share of undergraduates, Black | 6.1% |
| Share of undergraduates, Hispanic | 10.1% |
| Share of undergraduates, White | 40.6% |
| Share of undergraduates, Asian | 16.8% |
| Share of undergraduates, two or more races | 7.8% |
| Share of undergraduates, international | 12.6% |
| Net price, family income $0–30k | Not reported |
| Net price, family income $30–48k | Not reported |
| Net price, family income $48–75k | Not reported |
| Net price, family income $75–110k | Not reported |
| Net price, family income $110k+ | Not reported |
Sources for Tufts University
- About the federal data. U.S. Department of Education figures used for institutional characteristics, cost, admissions, enrollment, student outcomes, debt, and earnings on this page.
- Best Universities methodology. How grades and rankings are calculated.
Figures from the same school data Best Universities uses for rankings. Shortlist with them, then verify on the college’s official site.