Public Institution Kings Point, NY
United States Merchant Marine Academy
Four-year college
United States Merchant Marine Academy is a public smaller four-year college in Kings Point, NY, focused on bachelor’s-level study with a suburban campus setting, with about 962 undergraduates, an acceptance rate of about 34.2%, typical net price of $6,174 after grants, first-year retention of 84.5%, about 82.4% of students graduating within six years, and median earnings of $96,770 six years after enrollment.
Grade for United States Merchant Marine Academy
Letter grades from Best Universities methodology. Overall grade blends the categories below for schools in that ranking cohort.
Overall grade
B+
Best Universities compares this school with national benchmarks for similar institutions.
$6,174Average net price
82.4%Graduation rate
$96,770Median earnings, 6 years after entry
7.8%Pell Grant recipient share
Key facts for United States Merchant Marine Academy
Key rankings for United States Merchant Marine Academy
Where United States Merchant Marine Academy ranks among four-year colleges nationwide on selected cost and outcome measures. Rank 1 is best on that measure (lowest cost or debt; highest earnings, retention, or graduation). These are single-measure standings, not Best Universities list placement.
#57 of 1,811
Net Price
#18 of 1,816
Earnings
#464 of 1,808
Retention
#179 of 1,850
Graduation
#28 of 1,767
Debt
What stands out at United States Merchant Marine Academy
United States Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY is a four-year college where bachelor’s-level study is the main focus.
- Large suburb
- 962 undergraduates
Key figures
What stands out
Average net price after aid is lower than or close to the national median for similar schools, while six-year earnings meet or beat that median. On these two measures the pattern is comparatively favorable.
First-year retention and graduation both track at or above national benchmarks for similar schools, suggesting relatively steady progress for students who start here.
Admission is more selective than the national middle for similar schools and Pell Grant use runs lower—typical of campuses where access is shaped more by selectivity than by very high financial need in the enrolled class.
Best Universities methodology explains how grades and ranked-list placements are calculated.
Student measures: Cost, completion, earnings, retention, and debt.
Institution context: Enrollment, demographics, faculty, setting, and admissions.
At a glance
Cost, outcomes & access at United States Merchant Marine Academy
Two related measures side by side for a quick scan.
Net Price and Earnings
Retention and Graduation
Acceptance and Pell Grant Share
Annual figures on one dollar scale, so bar lengths are comparable within this chart. Total cost of attendance covers tuition, fees, and living costs. Listed tuition is the price before aid; average net price is what students paid after grants and scholarships.
In-state tuition is below the national median of $19,284 for similar four-year colleges, while out-of-state tuition is below the national median of $26,816.
Average net price by family income for full-time, first-time undergraduates.
How United States Merchant Marine Academy compares
Figures are for four-year colleges. State, region, and national columns use the middle value (median) for similar schools; retention uses averages for region and nation. Region shown: Region 0.
Swipe sideways to compare state, region, and national figures.
| Measure | This school | State (NY) | Region | Nation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net price | $6,174Below national median | $19,133 | $6,174* | $19,923 |
| Earnings, 6 years | $96,770Above national median | $48,438 | $96,770* | $45,225 |
| Retention | 84.5%Above national median | 82.9% | 94.3%* | 74.9% |
| Graduation | 82.4%Above national median | 58.8% | 87.5%* | 54.4% |
| Acceptance rate | 34.2%Below national median | 69.9% | 14.1%* | 77.0% |
| Pell share | 7.8%Below national median | 35.6% | 7.8%* | 33.9% |
| Median debt | $8,833Below national median | $22,383 | $8,833* | $23,250 |
| 3-year cohort default rate | 0.0%About the same | 0.0% | 0.0%* | 0.0% |
* Fewer than 10 similar schools in that slice. Treat as a rough guide.
Recent 3-year cohort default rates are near zero because of the federal student loan payment pause and are not useful for school-to-school comparison.
Campus & institution details for United States Merchant Marine Academy
Campus overview
Undergraduate demographics
Share of undergraduates in each group. Gender and race or ethnicity are reported separately, so each set totals about 100%.
Confirm program details and current staffing on the college website.
Frequently asked questions about United States Merchant Marine Academy
Common questions about United States Merchant Marine Academy, answered with Best Universities cost and outcome figures. For how we rank schools, use the methodology link in the header; for deadlines and aid, rely on the college’s official site.
Where is United States Merchant Marine Academy located?
United States Merchant Marine Academy is located in Kings Point, NY. If the college has more than one campus, confirm addresses and program locations on the school's official site or with the admissions office.
What kind of school is United States Merchant Marine Academy?
United States Merchant Marine Academy is a public four-year college. Best Universities compares it with similar four-year institutions for ranking and benchmark purposes.
How much does it cost to attend United States Merchant Marine Academy (tuition and net price)?
Listed sticker tuition is $895 for in-state students and $895 for out-of-state students. Average net price (typical annual cost after grant and scholarship aid for full-time, first-time undergraduates) is about $6,174. Your actual net price depends on income, residency, and aid.
What is United States Merchant Marine Academy's acceptance rate?
The overall undergraduate acceptance rate is about 34.2% for the year shown. Selectivity can vary by program or campus; check admissions for the path you care about.
How large is United States Merchant Marine Academy's undergraduate student body?
Undergraduate enrollment is about 962. Enrollment changes over time and may span multiple campuses depending on how the school reports.
What are completion and earnings outcomes for United States Merchant Marine Academy?
Median earnings six years after entry at United States Merchant Marine Academy are roughly $96,770. Outcomes vary widely by major, occupation, and region. About 82.4% of students graduate on time or soon after. Individual trajectories differ from these population-level measures.
How does Best Universities rank United States Merchant Marine Academy?
Among similar schools nationwide, United States Merchant Marine Academy stands as follows on selected measures: Average net price (#57 of 1,811); Median earnings, 6 years after entry (#18 of 1,816); First-year retention (#464 of 1,808); Graduation rate (#179 of 1,850); Median loan debt (#28 of 1,767). Those are single-measure ranks, not a single overall list place. See the methodology page for how Best Universities builds ranked lists.
Where should I go for admissions and official information about United States Merchant Marine Academy?
For application deadlines, requirements, campus visits, and program lists, use United States Merchant Marine Academy’s official website. Best Universities publishes cost and outcome figures for comparison; it does not replace the institution’s admissions or financial aid office.
All figures for United States Merchant Marine Academy Expand to view
A fuller table of the figures Best Universities uses for this school. Useful if you are double-checking a number.
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Institution | United States Merchant Marine Academy |
| Official website | https://www.usmma.edu/ |
| City, state | Kings Point, NY |
| School type | Four-year college |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 962 |
| Listed tuition (in-state) | $895 |
| Listed tuition (out-of-state) | $895 |
| Listed tuition (generic) | $895 |
| Total cost of attendance | $9,168 |
| Room and board (on campus) | Not reported |
| Average net price | $6,174 |
| Median earnings, 6 years after entry | $96,770 |
| Median earnings, 8 years after entry | $96,520 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entry | $90,610 |
| Median loan debt | $8,833 |
| 3-year cohort default rate | 0.0% |
| First-year retention | 84.5% |
| Graduation rate (4-year programs) | 82.4% |
| Graduation rate (shorter programs) | Not reported |
| Acceptance rate | 34.2% |
| SAT average | 1,207 |
| ACT average | 27 |
| Pell Grant share | 7.8% |
| Share with federal loans | 6.0% |
| Part-time enrollment share | 0.0% |
| Campus setting | Large suburb |
| Student–faculty ratio | 13 |
| Avg monthly faculty salary | $11,875 |
| Full-time faculty share | 78.7% |
| Online only | No |
| HBCU | No |
| SAT midpoint, Math | 625 |
| SAT midpoint, Reading & Writing | 615 |
| Share of undergraduates, women | 18.2% |
| Share of undergraduates, men | 81.8% |
| Share of undergraduates, Black | 2.4% |
| Share of undergraduates, Hispanic | 10.6% |
| Share of undergraduates, White | 75.2% |
| Share of undergraduates, Asian | 4.9% |
| Share of undergraduates, two or more races | 5.5% |
| Share of undergraduates, international | 0.1% |
| Net price, family income $0–30k | $1,773 |
| Net price, family income $30–48k | $4,098 |
| Net price, family income $48–75k | $5,897 |
| Net price, family income $75–110k | $8,752 |
| Net price, family income $110k+ | $9,168 |
Sources for United States Merchant Marine Academy
- About the federal data. U.S. Department of Education figures used for institutional characteristics, cost, admissions, enrollment, student outcomes, debt, and earnings on this page.
- Best Universities methodology. How grades and rankings are calculated.
Figures from the same school data Best Universities uses for rankings. Shortlist with them, then verify on the college’s official site.