Public Institution Berkeley, CA
University of California-Berkeley
Four-year college
University of California-Berkeley is a selective public large four-year college in Berkeley, CA, focused on bachelor’s-level study with an urban campus setting, with about 33,068 undergraduates, an acceptance rate of about 11.0%, listed tuition around $16,347 and typical net price of $13,481 after grants, first-year retention of 96.8%, about 92.8% of students graduating within six years, and median earnings of $74,919 six years after enrollment.
Grade for University of California-Berkeley
Letter grades from Best Universities methodology. Overall grade blends the categories below for schools in that ranking cohort.
Overall grade
A-
Best Universities compares this school with national benchmarks for similar institutions.
$13,481Average net price
92.8%Graduation rate
$74,919Median earnings, 6 years after entry
28.6%Pell Grant recipient share
Key facts for University of California-Berkeley
Key rankings for University of California-Berkeley
Where the University of California-Berkeley ranks among four-year colleges nationwide on selected cost and outcome measures. Rank 1 is best on that measure (lowest cost or debt; highest earnings, retention, or graduation). These are single-measure standings, not Best Universities list placement.
#394 of 1,811
Net Price
#105 of 1,816
Earnings
#100 of 1,808
Retention
#62 of 1,850
Graduation
#99 of 1,767
Debt
What stands out at University of California-Berkeley
University of California-Berkeley in Berkeley, CA is a four-year college where bachelor’s-level study is the main focus.
- Midsize city
- 33,068 undergraduates
Key figures
What stands out
Average net price after aid is lower than or close to the national median for similar schools, while six-year earnings meet or beat that median. On these two measures the pattern is comparatively favorable.
First-year retention and graduation both track at or above national benchmarks for similar schools, suggesting relatively steady progress for students who start here.
Admission is more selective than the national middle for similar schools and Pell Grant use runs lower—typical of campuses where access is shaped more by selectivity than by very high financial need in the enrolled class.
Best Universities methodology explains how grades and ranked-list placements are calculated.
Student measures: Cost, completion, earnings, retention, and debt.
Institution context: Enrollment, demographics, faculty, setting, and admissions.
At a glance
Cost, outcomes & access at University of California-Berkeley
Two related measures side by side for a quick scan.
Net Price and Earnings
Retention and Graduation
Acceptance and Pell Grant Share
Annual figures on one dollar scale, so bar lengths are comparable within this chart. Total cost of attendance covers tuition, fees, and living costs. Listed tuition is the price before aid; average net price is what students paid after grants and scholarships.
In-state tuition is below the national median of $19,284 for similar four-year colleges, while out-of-state tuition is above the national median of $26,816.
Average net price by family income for full-time, first-time undergraduates.
How the University of California-Berkeley compares
Figures are for four-year colleges. State, region, and national columns use the middle value (median) for similar schools; retention uses averages for region and nation. Region shown: Far West (region 8).
Swipe sideways to compare state, region, and national figures.
| Measure | This school | State (CA) | Region | Nation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net price | $13,481Below national median | $25,305 | $22,778 | $19,923 |
| Earnings, 6 years | $74,919Above national median | $51,784 | $49,182 | $45,225 |
| Retention | 96.8%Above national median | 82.5% | 78.1% | 74.9% |
| Graduation | 92.8%Above national median | 61.5% | 59.7% | 54.4% |
| Acceptance rate | 11.0%Below national median | 75.2% | 79.6% | 77.0% |
| Pell share | 28.6%Below national median | 35.1% | 32.7% | 33.9% |
| Median debt | $13,000Below national median | $22,000 | $21,370 | $23,250 |
| 3-year cohort default rate | 0.0%About the same | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
Recent 3-year cohort default rates are near zero because of the federal student loan payment pause and are not useful for school-to-school comparison.
Campus & institution details for University of California-Berkeley
Campus overview
Undergraduate demographics
Share of undergraduates in each group. Gender and race or ethnicity are reported separately, so each set totals about 100%.
Confirm program details and current staffing on the college website.
Frequently asked questions about University of California-Berkeley
Common questions about The University of California-Berkeley, answered with Best Universities cost and outcome figures. For how we rank schools, use the methodology link in the header; for deadlines and aid, rely on the college’s official site.
Where is University of California-Berkeley located?
The University of California-Berkeley is located in Berkeley, CA. If the college has more than one campus, confirm addresses and program locations on the school's official site or with the admissions office.
What kind of school is University of California-Berkeley?
The University of California-Berkeley is a public four-year college. Best Universities compares it with similar four-year institutions for ranking and benchmark purposes.
How much does it cost to attend University of California-Berkeley (tuition and net price)?
Listed sticker tuition is $16,347 for in-state students and $50,547 for out-of-state students. Average net price (typical annual cost after grant and scholarship aid for full-time, first-time undergraduates) is about $13,481. Your actual net price depends on income, residency, and aid.
What is University of California-Berkeley's acceptance rate?
The overall undergraduate acceptance rate is about 11.0% for the year shown. Selectivity can vary by program or campus; check admissions for the path you care about.
How large is University of California-Berkeley's undergraduate student body?
Undergraduate enrollment is about 33,068. Enrollment changes over time and may span multiple campuses depending on how the school reports.
What are completion and earnings outcomes for University of California-Berkeley?
Median earnings six years after entry at The University of California-Berkeley are roughly $74,919. Outcomes vary widely by major, occupation, and region. About 92.8% of students graduate on time or soon after. Individual trajectories differ from these population-level measures.
How does Best Universities rank University of California-Berkeley?
Among similar schools nationwide, The University of California-Berkeley stands as follows on selected measures: Average net price (#394 of 1,811); Median earnings, 6 years after entry (#105 of 1,816); First-year retention (#100 of 1,808); Graduation rate (#62 of 1,850); Median loan debt (#99 of 1,767). Those are single-measure ranks, not a single overall list place. See the methodology page for how Best Universities builds ranked lists.
Where should I go for admissions and official information about University of California-Berkeley?
For application deadlines, requirements, campus visits, and program lists, use The University of California-Berkeley’s official website. Best Universities publishes cost and outcome figures for comparison; it does not replace the institution’s admissions or financial aid office.
All figures for University of California-Berkeley Expand to view
A fuller table of the figures Best Universities uses for this school. Useful if you are double-checking a number.
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Institution | University of California-Berkeley |
| Official website | www.berkeley.edu/ |
| City, state | Berkeley, CA |
| School type | Four-year college |
| Undergraduate enrollment | 33,068 |
| Listed tuition (in-state) | $16,347 |
| Listed tuition (out-of-state) | $50,547 |
| Listed tuition (generic) | $16,347 |
| Total cost of attendance | $45,619 |
| Room and board (on campus) | $23,750 |
| Average net price | $13,481 |
| Median earnings, 6 years after entry | $74,919 |
| Median earnings, 8 years after entry | $84,865 |
| Median earnings, 10 years after entry | $92,446 |
| Median loan debt | $13,000 |
| 3-year cohort default rate | 0.0% |
| First-year retention | 96.8% |
| Graduation rate (4-year programs) | 92.8% |
| Graduation rate (shorter programs) | Not reported |
| Acceptance rate | 11.0% |
| SAT average | Not reported |
| ACT average | Not reported |
| Pell Grant share | 28.6% |
| Share with federal loans | 16.8% |
| Part-time enrollment share | 4.5% |
| Campus setting | Midsize city |
| Student–faculty ratio | 18 |
| Avg monthly faculty salary | $21,246 |
| Full-time faculty share | 69.6% |
| Online only | No |
| HBCU | No |
| SAT midpoint, Math | Not reported |
| SAT midpoint, Reading & Writing | Not reported |
| Share of undergraduates, women | 55.8% |
| Share of undergraduates, men | 44.2% |
| Share of undergraduates, Black | 2.1% |
| Share of undergraduates, Hispanic | 22.1% |
| Share of undergraduates, White | 19.8% |
| Share of undergraduates, Asian | 35.4% |
| Share of undergraduates, two or more races | 6.8% |
| Share of undergraduates, international | 9.8% |
| Net price, family income $0–30k | $5,311 |
| Net price, family income $30–48k | $6,501 |
| Net price, family income $48–75k | $9,693 |
| Net price, family income $75–110k | $15,074 |
| Net price, family income $110k+ | $34,529 |
Sources for University of California-Berkeley
- About the federal data. U.S. Department of Education figures used for institutional characteristics, cost, admissions, enrollment, student outcomes, debt, and earnings on this page.
- Best Universities methodology. How grades and rankings are calculated.
Figures from the same school data Best Universities uses for rankings. Shortlist with them, then verify on the college’s official site.