University of California-San Diego is a public large four-year college in La Jolla, CA, focused on bachelor’s-level study, a Hispanic-serving institution with an urban campus setting, with about 34,948 undergraduates, an acceptance rate of about 26.7%, listed tuition around $16,758 and typical net price of $12,470 after grants, first-year retention of 94.0%, about 86.1% of students graduating within six years, and median earnings of $65,669 six years after enrollment.

Grade for University of California-San Diego

Letter grades from Best Universities methodology. Overall grade blends the categories below for schools in that ranking cohort.

Overall grade

A-

Best Universities compares this school with national benchmarks for similar institutions.

How are grades calculated?

Affordability
A-

$12,470Average net price

Outcomes
B+

86.1%Graduation rate

Career
A+

$65,669Median earnings, 6 years after entry

Economic Access
B

34.2%Pell Grant recipient share

Key facts for University of California-San Diego

Tuition (in-state)
$16,758
Tuition (out-of-state)
$50,958
Total cost of attendance
$38,701
Average net price
$12,470
Acceptance rate
26.7%
Total enrollment
34,948
Graduation rate
86.1%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry
$65,669

Key rankings for University of California-San Diego

Where the University of California-San Diego ranks among four-year colleges nationwide on selected cost and outcome measures. Rank 1 is best on that measure (lowest cost or debt; highest earnings, retention, or graduation). These are single-measure standings, not Best Universities list placement.

#313 of 1,811

Net Price

#160 of 1,816

Earnings

#154 of 1,808

Retention

#130 of 1,850

Graduation

#184 of 1,767

Debt

What stands out at University of California-San Diego

University of California-San Diego in La Jolla, CA is a four-year college where bachelor’s-level study is the main focus.

  • Large city
  • 34,948 undergraduates
Average net price$12,470
Acceptance rate26.7%
Pell Grant recipient share34.2%
Graduation rate86.1%
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$65,669
First-year retention94.0%

Average net price after aid is lower than or close to the national median for similar schools, while six-year earnings meet or beat that median. On these two measures the pattern is comparatively favorable.

First-year retention and graduation both track at or above national benchmarks for similar schools, suggesting relatively steady progress for students who start here.

Best Universities methodology explains how grades and ranked-list placements are calculated.

Student measures: Cost, completion, earnings, retention, and debt.

Institution context: Enrollment, demographics, faculty, setting, and admissions.

At a glance

Cost, outcomes & access at University of California-San Diego

Two related measures side by side for a quick scan.

Net Price and Earnings

Average net price (after aid)
$12,470
Median earnings 6 years after entry
$65,669

Retention and Graduation

First-year retention
94.0%
Graduation rate (within 6 years)
86.1%

Acceptance and Pell Grant Share

Acceptance rate
26.7%
Undergraduate Pell recipient share
34.2%
Total cost and tuition

Annual figures on one dollar scale, so bar lengths are comparable within this chart. Total cost of attendance covers tuition, fees, and living costs. Listed tuition is the price before aid; average net price is what students paid after grants and scholarships.

Total cost of attendance$38,701
Listed tuition (in-state)$16,758
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$50,958
Room and board (on campus)$18,970
Average net price (after aid)$12,470

In-state tuition is below the national median of $19,284 for similar four-year colleges, while out-of-state tuition is above the national median of $26,816.

Average net price by family income

Average net price by family income for full-time, first-time undergraduates.

$0–$30k$7,525
$30k–$48k$8,155
$48k–$75k$9,942
$75k–$110k$15,199
$110k+$28,785

How the University of California-San Diego compares

Figures are for four-year colleges. State, region, and national columns use the middle value (median) for similar schools; retention uses averages for region and nation. Region shown: Far West (region 8).

This school vs state, regional, and national benchmarks

Net price

This school$12,470
State (CA)$25,305
Region$22,778
National$19,923

Earnings, 6 years

This school$65,669
State (CA)$51,784
Region$49,182
National$45,225

Retention

This school94.0%
State (CA)82.5%
Region78.1%
National74.9%

Graduation

This school86.1%
State (CA)61.5%
Region59.7%
National54.4%

Median debt

This school$15,500
State (CA)$22,000
Region$21,370
National$23,250

Swipe sideways to compare state, region, and national figures.

Measure This school State (CA) Region Nation
Net price$12,470Below national median$25,305$22,778$19,923
Earnings, 6 years$65,669Above national median$51,784$49,182$45,225
Retention94.0%Above national median82.5%78.1%74.9%
Graduation86.1%Above national median61.5%59.7%54.4%
Acceptance rate26.7%Below national median75.2%79.6%77.0%
Pell share34.2%About the same35.1%32.7%33.9%
Median debt$15,500Below national median$22,000$21,370$23,250
3-year cohort default rate0.0%About the same0.0%0.0%0.0%

Recent 3-year cohort default rates are near zero because of the federal student loan payment pause and are not useful for school-to-school comparison.

Campus & institution details for University of California-San Diego

Campus settingLarge city
Official websitewww.ucsd.edu/
Student–faculty ratio19:1
Full-time faculty87.7%
Avg monthly faculty salary$19,117

Share of undergraduates in each group. Gender and race or ethnicity are reported separately, so each set totals about 100%.

Women54.8%
Men45.2%
Black or African American1.6%
Hispanic / Latino26.5%
White17.2%
Asian34.6%
Two or more races6.5%
International students11.1%

Confirm program details and current staffing on the college website.

Frequently asked questions about University of California-San Diego

Common questions about The University of California-San Diego, answered with Best Universities cost and outcome figures. For how we rank schools, use the methodology link in the header; for deadlines and aid, rely on the college’s official site.

Where is University of California-San Diego located?

The University of California-San Diego is located in La Jolla, CA. If the college has more than one campus, confirm addresses and program locations on the school's official site or with the admissions office.

What kind of school is University of California-San Diego?

The University of California-San Diego is a public four-year college. Best Universities compares it with similar four-year institutions for ranking and benchmark purposes.

How much does it cost to attend University of California-San Diego (tuition and net price)?

Listed sticker tuition is $16,758 for in-state students and $50,958 for out-of-state students. Average net price (typical annual cost after grant and scholarship aid for full-time, first-time undergraduates) is about $12,470. Your actual net price depends on income, residency, and aid.

What is University of California-San Diego's acceptance rate?

The overall undergraduate acceptance rate is about 26.7% for the year shown. Selectivity can vary by program or campus; check admissions for the path you care about.

How large is University of California-San Diego's undergraduate student body?

Undergraduate enrollment is about 34,948. Enrollment changes over time and may span multiple campuses depending on how the school reports.

What are completion and earnings outcomes for University of California-San Diego?

Median earnings six years after entry at The University of California-San Diego are roughly $65,669. Outcomes vary widely by major, occupation, and region. About 86.1% of students graduate on time or soon after. Individual trajectories differ from these population-level measures.

How does Best Universities rank University of California-San Diego?

Among similar schools nationwide, The University of California-San Diego stands as follows on selected measures: Average net price (#313 of 1,811); Median earnings, 6 years after entry (#160 of 1,816); First-year retention (#154 of 1,808); Graduation rate (#130 of 1,850); Median loan debt (#184 of 1,767). Those are single-measure ranks, not a single overall list place. See the methodology page for how Best Universities builds ranked lists.

Where should I go for admissions and official information about University of California-San Diego?

For application deadlines, requirements, campus visits, and program lists, use The University of California-San Diego’s official website. Best Universities publishes cost and outcome figures for comparison; it does not replace the institution’s admissions or financial aid office.

All figures for University of California-San Diego Expand to view

A fuller table of the figures Best Universities uses for this school. Useful if you are double-checking a number.

All figures for University of California-San Diego
FieldValue
InstitutionUniversity of California-San Diego
Official websitewww.ucsd.edu/
City, stateLa Jolla, CA
School typeFour-year college
Undergraduate enrollment34,948
Listed tuition (in-state)$16,758
Listed tuition (out-of-state)$50,958
Listed tuition (generic)$16,758
Total cost of attendance$38,701
Room and board (on campus)$18,970
Average net price$12,470
Median earnings, 6 years after entry$65,669
Median earnings, 8 years after entry$77,893
Median earnings, 10 years after entry$84,943
Median loan debt$15,500
3-year cohort default rate0.0%
First-year retention94.0%
Graduation rate (4-year programs)86.1%
Graduation rate (shorter programs)Not reported
Acceptance rate26.7%
SAT averageNot reported
ACT averageNot reported
Pell Grant share34.2%
Share with federal loans21.4%
Part-time enrollment share2.4%
Campus settingLarge city
Student–faculty ratio19
Avg monthly faculty salary$19,117
Full-time faculty share87.7%
Online onlyNo
HBCUNo
SAT midpoint, MathNot reported
SAT midpoint, Reading & WritingNot reported
Share of undergraduates, women54.8%
Share of undergraduates, men45.2%
Share of undergraduates, Black1.6%
Share of undergraduates, Hispanic26.5%
Share of undergraduates, White17.2%
Share of undergraduates, Asian34.6%
Share of undergraduates, two or more races6.5%
Share of undergraduates, international11.1%
Net price, family income $0–30k$7,525
Net price, family income $30–48k$8,155
Net price, family income $48–75k$9,942
Net price, family income $75–110k$15,199
Net price, family income $110k+$28,785

Sources for University of California-San Diego

Figures from the same school data Best Universities uses for rankings. Shortlist with them, then verify on the college’s official site.